Job or Career?

Welcome to my blog!

On my little slice of the internet I aim to talk about things which interest me or are current for each specific time in my life. So, in todays blog post I wanted to discuss work/career ideas and achievements.

My biggest anxiety for the longest time (5 years to be exact) was the job I was in. I thought it was a job which I wanted a career out of and I was working my way up the ranks to create a career out of it. However, it just wasn’t right for me. I had put my entire life on hold, fell out with friends/family over me not being around much and I was simply unhappy. I was working 7 days a week, up to 19 hours a day, over 100 hours a week… it took it’s toll. I had dedication and admiration for my colleagues which kept me going, however I had no energy, was eating pure crap fast food all the time and missed so many important dates/events in my life. So, I decided to make a change.

I completely removed myself out of my comfort zone which was the job I had been focused on for 5 years of my life. I was scared, anxious and simply confused where I could go from there. I had my mind set on achieving the career goals out of that specific job. However, I am okay. I am refreshed, I have rebuilt relationships and created new goals for myself which I couldn’t be more happy with.

So, that is the only thing I would advise people. If you’re stuck in a ruck and although you’ve been set on a certain job or career, take a step back and decide whether or not it is the correct route for you. There are so many routes you can down, so many decisions which can positively impact your life and so many memories you could be losing out on if you’re not in the right job for you. I’m not suggesting everyone needs to quit their job and go in search for a hidden dream that is totally unachievable. However, if you are not happy and you are in a dead end job that you can’t see a future within, then leave. Life is far, far too short to be in a place of work that makes you unhappy. There are so many things in life we can’t control no matter how hard we try, however your job prospect is something you will always be able to control. So, my lesson today is… if you’re not in the right job for you, go in search of another one. Don’t dedicate so much time, effort and stress for something which is only going to be important today but not tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

